Change Phases


Definition: Change Phases is a model by Kotter ('90) describing eight steps or stages or phases which must be undertaken in their exact sequence to avoid a range of typical severe change management problems:
1. Establish a sense of urgency
2. Create a coalition
3. Develop a clear vision
4. Share the vision
5. Empower people to clear obstacles
6. Secure short-term wins
7. Consolidate and keep moving
8. Anchor the change
Although there could be exceptions to this exact sequence, change managers are well advised to keep this model always at hand when changing part of an organization.
See also the 4D Model (AI) which takes another route.



More on change phases.
More on change management: 8 Accelerators For Strategic Change, Bottom-up Approach, Butterfly Effect, Change Approaches, Change Dimensions, more...


MBA Brief offers brief, yet very accurate definitions of MBA concepts, frameworks, methods and models. We keep it short and provide some links in case you'd like to learn more around a subject.

© 2021 MBA Brief - Last updated: 5-3-2021  -  Privacy   |   Terms