logo share us

Skills Acquisition Model


Definition: the Skills Acquisition Model is a 5-stage model by Dreyfus & Dreyfus of the mental activities involved in directed skill acquisition individuals move through when acquiring skills through instruction and practicing:
Stage 1. Novice > Stage 2. Competence > Stage 3. Proficiency > Stage 4. Expertise > Stage 5. Mastery.
Later they slightly improved their stages and titles into:
Stage 1. Novice > Stage 2. Advanced Beginner > Stage 3. Competent > Stage 4. Proficient > Stage 5. Expert.


Learn more about the Skills Acquisition Model.

More on learning: After Action Review, Children Missing Education, Cone of Experience, Deliberate Practice, Hindsight Bias, more on learning...

You may also like: Full-time MBA, Executive MBA, Executive Education, Online MBA.

MBA Brief offers concise, yet precise definitions of concepts, methods and models as taught in a study Master of Business Administration.

We like to keep things short, and provide links to learn more about your subject.

add us to your desktop

Add MBA Brief to your desktop / iPad


© 2024 MBA Brief - Last updated: 18-4-2024  -  Privacy   |   Terms