logo share us

PDCA Cycle


Definition: the PDCA Cycle or PDSA or the Deming Cycle is an iterative model for continuous improvement of the quality of processes and products. It consists of a logical sequence of four repetitive steps for continuous improvement and learning:
- PLAN - Plan ahead for change. Analyze and predict the results.
- DO - Execute the plan, taking small steps in controlled circumstances.
- CHECK (STUDY) - Study the results.
- ACT - Take action to standardize or improve the process.
In the 1920s Shewhart introduced the 3-step concept of Plan, Do and See, which was modified by Deming into 4 stages.
Similar to DMAIC in Six Sigma.


Learn more about the PDCA Cycle.

More on process management: Business Process, Business Process Reengineering, Capability Maturity Model Integration, DMADV, DMAIC, more on process management...

You may also like: Full-time MBA, Executive MBA, Executive Education, Online MBA.

MBA Brief offers concise, yet precise definitions of concepts, methods and models as taught in a study Master of Business Administration.

We like to keep things short, and provide links to learn more about your subject.

add us to your desktop

Add MBA Brief to your desktop / iPad


© 2024 MBA Brief - Last updated: 28-5-2024  -  Privacy   |   Terms